June 23, 2022

39th Judicial District Announces Independence Day Program

CHAMBERSBURG, Pa. – President Judge Shawn D. Meyers of the Common Pleas Court for the 39th Judicial District will conduct an observation of the Declaration of Independence – July 4 and Ratification of the Pennsylvania Constitution at 8:30 a.m. July 1 in Courtroom 1 of the Franklin County Judicial Center, 14 N. Main St., Chambersburg. The scheduled speaker for the observation is Pennsylvania Supreme Court Justice P. Kevin Brobson. The public is welcome and encouraged to attend.


Brobson assumed his judicial dusties on the Pennsylvania Supreme Court on Jan. 3. Prior to his election to the state’s highest court, Brobson served for 12 years as a judge on the Commonwealth Court of Pennsylvania, the last year as the court’s President Judge. During his time on Commonwealth Court, Brobson was appointed in August 2015 by the Pennsylvania Supreme Court to a four-year term on the Judicial Conduct Board of Pennsylvania, a tenure that included service on the Executive Committee as secretary and chair. From 2016 to 2018, Brobson was the Jurist-in-Residence at the Widener University Commonwealth Law School. Today, he serves on the law school’s Board of Advisors.


Prior to taking judicial office, Brobson practiced law in the Harrisburg office of Buchanan Ingersoll & Rooney PC. While in private practice, he focused on representing clients in state and federal trial and appellate courts and administrative agencies. Brobson also served his local community as a member of the Middle Paxton Township Planning Commission, a youth baseball and soccer coach, and a supporter of charitable endeavors committed to conquering pediatric cancer.


Brobson received his undergraduate degree, magna cum laude, from Lycoming College. He graduated from the Widener Commonwealth Law School, summa cum laude, and served as a managing editor of the school’s law review. Following law school, Brobson clerked for the late Honorable James McGirr Kelly of the U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of Pennsylvania.


Return to list.