Instructions for Application for License to Carry Firearms						
Applicants Must		be at least 21 years of age Pennsylvania residents must apply in the county that they reside pass the P.I.C.S. (Pennsylvania Instant Check System Administered by the PA State Police)				
Cost		Deposit at time of application: When the license is approved: Accepted forms of payment:	\$ 5.00 \$ 15.00 Cash, Check, Money Order, or all Major Credit & Debit Cards			
This license is good ONLY in the State of Pennsylvania unless another State has signed an agreement with Pennsylvania and is on record with the Attorney General of Pennsylvania. (www.attorneygeneral.gov)						
WARNING	This license may be revoked at any time for due cause, at the discretion of the Franklin County Sheriff. **NOTE – Pursuant to PENNSYLVANIA CRIMES CODE (18 PA C.S.) Section 4105 effective February 1, 2016 any returned checks will incur a \$50.00 fee. This service charge will be in addition to the amount of your original check.					
<ul> <li>Please fill in the form, beginning with your Last Name. Be sure to list your current street address and a post office box, if applicable. Answer all of the questions on the front side of the form and be sure to sign and date your application on the bottom of the form.</li> <li>You <u>must</u> furnish a copy of your driver's license. It must be current and match the name and address exactly as you have listed on your application. If you live in another state, please attach a copy of your domicile permit.</li> <li>DO NOT check "Employment" unless you have completed the required training under the LETHAL WEAPONS TRAINING ACT, ACT 2, ACT 120 or similar laws dealing with police officers, guards, etc.</li> <li>You may drop off the application at the office or mail it to the Franklin County Sheriff's Office located at 14 North Main Street, Chambersburg, PA 17201. Incomplete applications will be returned. If you have any questions please contact us at (717) 261-3877.</li> </ul>						
Make any checks payable to: FRANKLIN COUNTY SHERIFF						
The Sheriff has 45 days to process your application.						
Once processed, you will be notified of the results.						

Thank you, Sheriff Benjamin H. Sites COUNTY OF\_\_\_\_\_

## APPLICATION FOR A PENNSYLVANIA LICENSE TO CARRY FIREARMS

FOR USE BY ISSUING AUTHORITY: PICS Temp App. No			PICS Perm. App. No Application Date							
License No Temporary License Approval Date			Permanent License Approval Date							
Rejection Date										
APPLICANT INF	ORMATION	– TYPE	PRINT		OR BLAG					
1. LAST NAME 2. JR., ETC.	3. FIRST NAME			MIDDLE NAME		5. PHOTO ID/I	DRIVER LICEN	ISE NO.	6. STATE	
7a. DATE OF BIRTH 7b. PLACE OF BIRTH 8. SOCIAL SECU (Optional)	8. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER 9. AGE 10. SEX 11. RACE 12. HEIGHT 13. WEIGHT ( <i>Optional</i> )				IT 14. HAIR	14. HAIR COLOR 15. EYE COLOR				
16. STREET ADDRESS		17.0	CITY		18. STATE	19. ZIP CO	DE 20. T	ELEPHONE	NO.	
21. PERSONAL EMAIL (Blocks 21-23 Optional) 22. EMPLOYER/BUSINESS NAME 23. WORK TELEPHONE NO.										
24. REASON FOR A LICENSE TO CARRY FIREARMS:				_						
	FISHING T	ARGET SI	HOOTING		LECTING					
NAME	NO REFERENCES (Optional) NOT FAMILY MEMBERS IE ADDRESS TE					TELEPHON	TELEPHONE NO.			
NAME	ADDRESS						TELEPHON	ELEPHONE NO.		
APPLICANTS ARE DETERMINED TO BE E	IGIBLE FOR A LICE	NSE TO CA	RRY FIREA	RMS BASED UPO	N CRITERIA L	ISTED IN 18 P	a.C.S. § 6109.			
26. DO ANY OF THESE PROHIBITING CRITERIA UNDER 1	8 PA.C.S. § 6109(e	e)(1) APPL	Y TO YOL	? CHECK YES	OR NO:					
A. IS YOUR CHARACTER AND REPUTATION SAFETY?	SUCH THAT YOU	WOULD B	E LIKELY	TO ACT IN A M	IANNER DAN	IGEROUS TO	O PUBLIC		S 🗌 NO	
B. HAVE YOU EVER BEEN CONVICTED OF AN OFFENSE UNDER THE PENNSYLVANIA CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE, DRUG, DEVICE AND COSMETIC ACT (CSDDCA)? (ANY PENNSYLVANIA DRUG CONVICTION UNDER THE CSDDCA IS PROHIBITING FOR A YES NO LICENSE TO CARRY.)										
D. HAVE YOU EVER BEEN ADJUDICATED DELINQUENT FOR A CRIME LISTED IN 18 PA.C.S. § 6105 OR FOR AN OFFENSE UNDER YES NO THE CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE, DRUG, DEVICE AND COSMETIC ACT?							S 🗌 NO			
E. HAVE YOU EVER BEEN INVOLUNTARILY COMMITTED TO A HOSPITAL/HEALTH CARE FACILITY FOR A MENTAL HEALTH CONDITION OR OTHER TREATMENT, OR ADJUDICATED INCOMPETENT/INCAPACITATED? YOU MAY CHECK "NO" IF YOU HAVE BEEN GRANTED RELIEF OR EXPUNGEMENT IN PENNSYLVANIA PURSUANT TO EITHER 18 PA.C.S. 6105(F)(1) OR 6111.1(G)(2), OR BY THE ADJUDICATING/COMMITTING STATE PURSUANT TO A QUALIFYING MENTAL HEALTH RELIEF FROM DISABILITIES PROGRAM, AS SET FORTH IN 34 U.S.C. § 40915.										
	F. ARE YOU AN INDIVIDUAL WHO IS A HABITUAL DRUNKARD, OR WHO IS ADDICTED TO OR AN UNLAWFUL USER OF MARIJUANA YES NC OR A STIMULANT, DEPRESSANT, OR NARCOTIC DRUG?						S 🗌 NO			
G. ARE YOU NOW CHARGED WITH, OR HAVE YOU EVER BEEN CONVICTED OF A CRIME PUNISHABLE BY IMPRISONMENT FOR A TERM EXCEEDING ONE YEAR? <b>THIS IS THE MAXIMUM SENTENCE YOU COULD</b> HAVE RECEIVED, NOT THE ACTUAL SENTENCE YOU DID RECEIVE. (IT DOES NOT INCLUDE FEDERAL OR STATE OFFENSES PERTAINING TO ANTITRUST, UNFAIR YES NO TRADE PRACTICES, RESTRAINTS OF TRADE, OR REGULATION OF BUSINESS; OR STATE OFFENSES CLASSIFIED AS MISDEMEANORS AND PUNISHABLE BY A TERM OF IMPRISONMENT NOT EXCEEDING TWO YEARS.)										
H. HAVE YOU EVER RECEIVED A DISHONORABLE DISCHARGE FROM THE UNITED STATES ARMED FORCES?										
I. ARE YOU A FUGITIVE FROM JUSTICE? THIS DOES NOT APPLY TO MOVING OR NONMOVING SUMMARY OFFENSES UNDER TITLE 75 (RELATING TO MOTOR VEHICLES), BUT DOES INCLUDE OUTSTANDING ARREST AND BENCH WARRANTS.										
J. ARE YOU PROHIBITED FROM POSSESSING OR ACQUIRING A FIREARM UNDER THE STATUTES OF THE UNITED STATES?							S 🗌 NO			
27. ARE YOU A UNITED STATES CITIZEN? IF NO, COUNTRY OF BIRTH ALIEN REGISTRATION # OR I-94# YES NC							S 🗌 NO			
28. IF YOU ARE A RESIDENT OF ANOTHER STATE, DO YOU POSSESS A CURRENT LICENSE, PERMIT, OR SIMILAR DOCUMENT TO CARRY A FIREARM ISSUED BY THAT STATE? IF YES, ATTACH A PHOTOCOPY OF THE DOCUMENT TO THIS FORM.							S 🗌 NO			
29. ARE YOU CURRENTLY ON ANY TYPE OF PROBATION/PAROLE WHICH PROHIBTS THE POSSESSION OR CONTROL OF A FIREARM?							S 🗌 NO			
30. I have never been convicted of a crime that prohibits me from possessing or acquiring a firearm under Federal or State law. I am of sound mind and have never been committed to a mental institution or mental health care facility. I hereby certify that the statements contained herein are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief. I understand that if I knowingly make any false statements herein, I am subject to penalties prescribed by law. I authorize the sheriff, or his designee, or, in the case of first-class cities, the chief or head of the police department, or his designee, to inspect only those records or documents relevant to information required for this application. <i>If I am issued a license and knowingly become ineligible to legally possess or acquire firearms, I will promptly notify the sheriff of the county in which I reside or, if I reside in a city of the first class, the chief of police of that city. This certification is made subject to both the penalties of 18 Pa.C.S. § 4904, relating to unsworn falsifications to authorities and the Uniform Firearms Act.</i>										
SIGNATURE - APPLICANT DATE OF APPLICATION										

18 Pa.C.S. Section 6105(a)(1): A person who has been convicted of an offense enumerated in subsection (b), within or without this Commonwealth, or whose conduct meets the criteria in subsection (c) shall not possess, use, control, sell, transfer or manufacture or obtain a license to possess, use, control, sell, transfer, or manufacture a firearm in this Commonwealth.

Section 6105(a.1)(2): A person who is the subject of an active final protection from abuse order issued pursuant to 23 Pa.C.S. § 6108, is the subject of any other active protection from abuse order issued pursuant to 23 Pa.C.S. § 6107(b) (relating to hearings), which provided for the relinquishment of firearms or other weapons or ammunition during the period of time the order is in effect, or is otherwise prohibited from possessing or acquiring a firearm under 18 U.S.C. § 922(g)(8) (relating to unlawful acts), commits a misdemeanor of the second degree if he intentionally or knowingly fails to relinquish a firearm or other weapon or ammunition.

		T					
Section 6105(b)							
§908 Prohibited offensive wea	apons	§3921	Theft by unlawful taking or disposition, upon conviction of the				
§911 Corrupt organizations			second felony offense				
§912 Possession of weapon of	on school property	§3923	Theft by extortion, when the offense is accompanied by				
§2502 Murder			threats of violence				
§2503 Voluntary manslaughter		§3925	Receiving stolen property, upon conviction of the second				
§2504 Involuntary manslaughte	er, if the offense is based on the		felony offense				
reckless use of a firearn	n	§4906	False reports to law enforcement authorities, if the fictitious				
§2702 Aggravated assault			report involved the theft of a firearm as provided in 4906(c)(2)				
§2703 Assault by prisoner		§4912	Impersonating a public servant if the person is impersonating				
§2704 Assault by life prisoner			a law enforcement officer				
§2709.1 Stalking		§4952	Intimidation of witnesses or victims				
§2716 Weapons of mass destr	uction	§4953	Retaliation against witness, victim or party				
§2901 Kidnapping		§5121	Escape				
§2902 Unlawful restraint		§5122	Weapons or implements for escape				
	910 Luring a child into a motor vehicle or structure		§5501(3) Riot				
§3121 Rape		§5515	Prohibiting of paramilitary training				
§3123 Involuntary deviate sexu	ual intercourse	§5516	Facsimile weapons of mass destruction				
§3125 Aggravated indecent as		§6110.1	Possession of firearm by minor				
§3301 Arson and related offens	ses	§6301	Corruption of minors				
§3302 Causing or risking catas	strophe	§6302	Sale or lease of weapons and explosives				
§3502 Burglary							
•			Any offense equivalent to any of the above-enumerated offenses				
5 5			e prior laws of this Commonwealth, or any offense equivalent				
§3701 Robbery		to any of the above-enumerated offenses under the statutes of any					
§3702 Robbery of motor vehicle other state or of the United States.							
Section 6105(c):							

18 Pa.C.S. § 6105(c) also prohibits the following persons from possessing, using, controlling, transferring, manufacturing, or obtaining a license to possess, use, control, transfer, or manufacture a firearm in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.

## ARE YOU A PERSON WHO:

- is a fugitive from justice; or
   has been convicted of an offense under the Pennsylvania. Con
  - 2. has been convicted of an offense under the Pennsylvania Controlled Substance, Drug, Device and Cosmetic Act, or any equivalent Federal statute or equivalent statute of any other state, that may be punishable by a term of imprisonment exceeding two years; or
  - 3. has been convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol or controlled substance as provided in 75 Pa.C.S. § 3802 (relating to driving under the influence of alcohol or controlled substance) or the former 75 Pa.C.S. § 3731, on three or more separate occasions within a five-year period. For the purposes of this paragraph only, the prohibition of Section 6105(a) shall only apply to transfers or purchases of firearms after the third conviction; or
- 4. has been adjudicated as an incompetent or who has been involuntarily committed to a mental institution for inpatient care and treatment under section 302, 303, or 304 of the Pennsylvania Mental Health Procedures Act; or
- 5. being an alien, is illegally or unlawfully in the United States; or
- 6. is the subject of an active final protection from abuse order issued pursuant to 23 Pa.C.S. § 6108, is the subject of any other active protection from abuse order issued pursuant to 23 Pa.C.S. § 6107(b), which provided for the relinquishment of firearms during the period of time the order is in effect or is otherwise prohibited from possessing or acquiring a firearm under 18 U.S.C. § 922(g)(8). This prohibition shall terminate upon the expiration or vacation of the order or portion thereof relating to the relinquishment of firearms; or
- 7. was adjudicated delinquent by a court pursuant to 42 Pa.C.S. § 6341 (relating to adjudication) or under any equivalent Federal statute or statute of any other state as a result of conduct which if committed by an adult would constitute an offense under 18 Pa.C.S. sections 2502, 2503, 2702, 2703, 2704, 2901, 3121, 3123, 3301, 3502, 3701, and 3923; or
- 8. was adjudicated delinquent by a court pursuant to 42 Pa.C.S. § 6341 or under any equivalent Federal statute or statute of any other state as a result of conduct which if committed by an adult would constitute an offense enumerated in 18 Pa.C.S. § 6105(b) with the exception of those crimes set forth in paragraph 7. This prohibition ends 15 years after the delinquency adjudication or upon the person reaching the age of 30, whichever is earlier.
- 9. is prohibited from possessing or acquiring a firearm under 18 U.S.C. § 922(g)(9) (Misdemeanor Crime of Domestic Violence). 18 U.S.C. § 921(a)(33) generally states that the term "misdemeanor crime of domestic violence" means an offense that— (i) is a misdemeanor under Federal, State, Tribal, or local law; and (ii) has, as an element, the use or attempted use of physical force, or the threatened use of a deadly weapon, committed by a current or former spouse, parent, or guardian of the victim, by a person with whom the victim shares a child in common, by a person who is cohabiting with or has cohabited with the victim as a spouse, parent, or guardian, by a person similarly situated to a spouse, parent, or guardian of the victim, or by a person who has a current or recent former dating relationship with the victim.
- 10. has been convicted of an offense under subsection (a.1)(2). The prohibition shall terminate five years after the date of conviction, final release from confinement or final release from supervision, whichever is later.

## PRIVACY ACT NOTICE

Solicitation of this information is authorized under Title 18 Pa.C.S. § 6111. Disclosure of your social security number is voluntary. Your social security number, if provided, may be used to verify your identity and prevent misidentification. All information supplied, including your social security number, is confidential and not subject to public disclosure.