January 20, 2021

Phone Outage Affecting 9-1-1 Emergency and Non-emergency Lines; Fire, Rescue, Police Phone List

Franklin County Department of Emergency Services received a service disruption notification from 9-1-1 phone provider, Lumen, at 2:19pm on Wednesday afternoon.

Should an emergency occur, residents may TEXT to 9-1-1 or call fire, rescue and law enforcement departments directly:

Law Enforcement

Franklin County Sheriff 717-261-3877

Franklin County Jail 717-264-9513

Franklin County Adult Probation 717-264-6613

Franklin County Juvenile Probation 717-261-3122

Chambersburg Police Department 717-264-4131

Pennsylvania State Police Chambersburg               717-264-5161

Franklin County Coroner               717-369-3226

Franklin County Dog Warden 717-762-9794

Greencastle Police Department 717-597-9506

Shippensburg Police Department 717-532-7361

Washington Township Police Department               717-762-1447

Waynesboro Police Department 717-762-2132

Mercersburg Police Department 717-328-3116

PA Fish Commission 717-486-7087

PA Game Commission 717-603-0061

Caledonia State Park 717-352-2161

PSU Mont Alto Campus Security 717-749-6076

Shippensburg University Security 717-477-1444

Wilson College Security  717-372-2255

Michaux State Forest 717-352-2211

Buchanan Forest Rangers 717-485-3148

Cowans Gap State Park 717-485-3948

US Department of Justice 215-446-7866


A notification from the County’s  9-1-1 phone provider stated that a phone outage is affecting 9 -1 -1 emergency and non-emergency phone lines for customers in Reedsville, McConnellstown, Orbisonia, Newburg, Charlesville, Port Royal, Newport, Carlisle, Ship, Claysburg, McAlisterville, Three Springs, Waynesboro, Millerstown, Marklesburg, Thompsontown, Schellsburg, Loysville, Allensville, Fayetteville, Duncannon, Bedford Valley, Richfield, Liverpool, Mifflintown, Mt Holly Springs, Blue Ridge Summit, Newville, McConnellsburg, Loysburg, Hopewell, Fishertown, Eastterford, Greencastle, Hyndman, Blain, Dry Run, Clearville, Belleville, Bedford, Everett, St. Thomas, Salem Village, Roaring Springs, Ickesburg, New Bloomfield, Marion, Marysville, Shade Gap.

Calls to 9-1-1 from customers in these areas may not connect.

Further updates will be provided via the Department of Emergency Services’ Facebook page at https://www.facebook.com/FranklinCountyPA911/ and Twitter page @Emrgncy_Svc28.



Return to list.